Younus Institute of Technology is a local chapter of National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning (NPTEL). NPTEL is a project by IITs, funded by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) that provides video courses in Engineering, Sciences, Technology, Management and Humanities and supports e-learning through Web. It has developed curriculum-based video courses and web-based e-courses targeting students and faculty of institutions offering UG engineering programmes. This is a joint initiative by the seven IITs and IISc Bangalore. NPTEL is one of the national Co-ordinators of MHRD’s prestigious Study Webs of Active Learning for Young Aspiring Minds (SWAYAM) programme – The Massive Online Open Course (MOOC) initiative by Indian Academia. All courses offered by NPTEL are part of SWAYAM. SWAYAM seeks to bridge the digital divide for students who have until now remained untouched by the digital revolution and have not been able to join the mainstream of the knowledge economy. YIT students and faculty can access all the study materials of the courses offered by NPTEL. They can also register for the courses offered by SWAYAM and NPTEL, enjoying the special benefits offered for the Local Chapter candidates. Also, the entire NPTEL audio, video and course material is made available through the college LAN, for the benefit of the students and faculty. This enables the students to instantly download NPTEL study materials for subjects and courses instantly through the college Wi-Fi, free of charge.

Courses delivered through SWAYAM are available free of cost to the learners, however learners wanting certificate should register for the final proctored exams that come at a fee (Rs 1000/-) and attend in-person at designated centres on specified dates. Eligibility for the certificate will be announced on the course page and learners will get certificates only if this criterion is matched. NPTEL offers courses of 4, 8, and 12 weeks duration in various disciplines in engineering, science, mathematics, humanities, management and research that includes relevant exposure to modern scenario.

As per rules of B. Tech (Honours) degree programme of KTU, students registering for the B. Tech (Honours) programme can earn credits by undergoing MOOC courses of duration not less than 12 weeks duration courses and approved by the Academic Council. At present the Academic Council had approved 136 NPTEL MOOC Courses that can be registered by the students for the B. Tech (Honours) Programme.